Zambia crowned Cosafa U17 champs

Zambia were crowned Cosafa Under-17 Cup champions after they defeated hosts Mauritius 3-0 in the final played in St Louis on Sunday.
Prince Mumba, Chirstopher Phiri and Kingsley Hakwiya scored a goal apiece to help Zambia win their first trophy at this level.
To reach the final, Zambia had defeated Malawi 2-0 in the first semifinal match played at the Stade St Francois Xavier on Friday, 29 July, thanks to first-half goals by the top-scoring pair of Lameck Banda and Martin Njobvu.
Both Banda and Njobvu top scored with five goals apiece, their feat matched only by South African forward Junior Nare.
Earlier in the eight-team annual age-restricted competition, Zambia were placed in Group B along with South Africa, Mozambique and Madagascar.
They quickly established themselves as tournament favourites with a 7-1 thumping of Madagascar in their opening match, with Njobvu and Banda helping themselves to hat-tricks and Kingsley Hakwiya scored the seventh. Madagascar scored their consolation through a penalty converted by Mamisoa Andriamalala.
That victory was followed by a 3-2 victory, recorded at the same venue, over South Africa thanks to a brace by Lameck Banda and a third goal by Prince Mumba. It was Junior Nare who pulled back two goals ten minutes from time to provide a thrilling finish to the encounter but Zambia managed to keep their lead until the final whistle.
Their only defeat came on match day three when they lost 1-0 Mozambique thanks to a goal by Geny Catamo, which meant that they finished level on six points with South Africa and Mozambique.
After removing results against Madagascar, South Africa and Zambia progressed to the semifinals on goal difference from Mozambique.
The 2017 Cosafa Under-17 Cup was the sixth edition (technically the fifth after the 2009 edition failed to take place) of the age-restricted competition which was revived last year after a 14-year hiatus.
South Africa, champions in 1994 and 2002, are the most successful team in the tournament. Other previous winners are Malawi (2001) and Namibia (2016).
Zambia are also reigning Cosafa Under-20 champions.